FHA -VS- Conventional

FHA -VS- Conventional

The main difference between FHA loans and conventional loans is that conventional loans are not insured by the government. FHA loans are backed by the government which provides protection to the lender. However, both come with lower downpayments, but some of its features make it relatively better from one to the other, depending on the situation.

Through this article you will know the difference between FHA and current loan and which loan will be best for you in your situation.

What is an FHA loan?

An FHA loan is a government-backed loan that provides protection to the lender, especially if the borrower defaults or is unable to repay the loan. For borrowers who have low credit card scores and limited savings for downpayments, this is the best option for them and they can easily qualify.

What is a Conventional loan?

The loan is not insured by the government and its qualifications and requirements are set by the lender. Compared to FHA loan, higher qualification of conventional loan is required.

FHA Vs Conventional loan comparation

Conventional loans come with a 3% down payment, while FHA loans come with a 3.5% down payment. Which loan is best for you will depend on your financial situation.

The comparative differences between FHA and conventional loans are:

Comparison Conventional loan FHA loan
Minimum Down Payment 3% 3.5%
Minimum Credit Score 600 580
Maximum Debt-to-Income Ratio 43% 50%
Income Limit No income limit No income limit
Mortgage Insurance Annual fee Annual and upfront fee
Loan Limit for 2022 (in most areas $647,200 $420,680

Differences between conventional loans and FHA

Credit Score Requirements

The main requirement of any loan is credit score. The lender will know your credit score requirements no matter what type of loan you apply for.

Conventional loan

You must have a credit card score of 600 or higher to qualify for a conventional loan. The better your credit card rate, the higher your interest rate.

If your home becomes a foreclosure, you may have to wait seven years before applying for a loan.

FHA loan

To qualify for an FHA loan, the minimum credit card score must be 500 and the down payment must be 10%. However, if your credit card score is 580 or higher, you will need a 3.5% down payment.

Down Payment Requirements

There is a down payment requirement for both loans.

FHA Loan

If the borrower’s credit card score is 500 to 579, then 10 percent down payment is required. If the credit card score is 580 or higher, the minimum downpayment is 3.5%.

Conventional Loan

Conventional loans require a minimum downpayment of 3%. However, this downpayment varies from lender to lender.

If your down payment is less than 20 percent, you will need to pay private mortgage insurance until your 20% equity is created.

Debt to Income Requirements

DTI is the ratio of debt to monthly income. The percentage of your monthly income that goes into debt repayment is your DTI. It is calculated by dividing your total debt by the total income.

FHA loan

You will not need a high standard of DTI to qualify for an FHA loan. If your maximum DTI is 57%, you will qualify for the loan. However, in the case of some lenders, it may be less.

Conventional Loan

There is no fixed DTI for conventional loans. You need 50% or less DTI to qualify for this loan. However, this may vary from lender to lender. In some cases, the borrower qualifies for a conventional loan with a DTI of 65%.

Loan Limits

Both loans have loan limits which vary in price and location. Also these loan limits change annually.

FHA loan

As of 2022, the FHA loan limit for single family homes in most countries is $420,680. However, in high-cost countries this loan limit may increase, even if the unit increases the loan limit will increase.

Conventional loan

As of 2022, the conventional loan limit is $ 647,200 for a single family home. However, this loan limit may increase in high-cost areas.

Mortgage Insurance

Mortgage insurance protects the lender if the borrower defaults.

FHA loan

If you make a downpayment of more than 10%, you will have to pay Mortgage Insurance Premium for the life of the loan. This mortgage insurance premium expires after 11 years.

Conventional loan

If your down payment is less than 20% then you have to pay Private Mortgage Insurance. This insurance will expire if your home is 20 percent.

Related Articles

What is an FHA Loan?
What is an FHA Loan? FHA is a type of approved mortgage that helps a person buy a home with...
FHA - How does an FHA Home Mortgage work?
How Does an FHA Mortgage Work? FHA loans are best for those who are buying a home for the first...
FHA - Home Buying Grants
Home Buyer Grants The largest amount is required to buy a house for the first time. But the grant will...
FHA - Upfront MIP
FHA Upfront MIP According to the FHA loan, you have to keep a down payment of 10%. If the down...
FHA Refinance
FHA Refinance An FHA loan is a type of mortgage that is insured by the Federal Housing Administration. Are you...